FEMA announced $10 million in competitive awards for its Fiscal Year (FY) 2019 Regional Catastrophic Preparedness Grant Program (RCPGP) to eight local governments to assist in developing innovative regional solutions to issues related to catastrophic incidents.

"The grant program plays an important role in the implementation of the National Preparedness System by supporting the building of core capabilities essential to achieving the National Preparedness Goal of a secure and resilient nation," says the press release.

FY19 RCPGP Award Recipients:

  1. $1,406,550  San Francisco, California
  2. $1,138,790  District of Columbia
  3. $1,401,975  Jacksonville, Florida
  4. $937,700     Baltimore, Maryland
  5. $1,406,550  Boston, Massachusetts
  6. $1,073,481  El Paso, Texas
  7. $1,230,748  Houston, Texas
  8. $1,404,206  Snohomish County, Washington

“The devastating disasters of 2017 and 2018 demonstrate that our nation continues to face events that are catastrophic in scope and scale,” said Dr. Daniel Kaniewski, FEMA’s Deputy Administrator for Resilience. “Through this grant program, FEMA will work with our partners to prepare for these catastrophic disasters and make our nation more resilient.”