Six professionals will be recognized for their leadership in addressing safety and security issues as part of the 2018 National Sports Safety and Security Conference and Exhibition, this week in Louisville, KY.

The presentation of the Professional of the Year Awards is sponsored by Axis Communications.

“The Professional of the Year Award provides professional leagues, NCAA member institutions, marathon and interscholastic athletics organizations to recognize and honor outstanding individuals in their organizations who demonstrate exceptional knowledge and skill in enhancing safety and security,” said NCS4 Director Dr. Lou Marciani.  “Their contributions go beyond what is normally required and set and example for others to follow. They are truly the best-in-class in the sports security profession.”

Professionals being recognized by NCS4 this year include:

  • Virginia Achman, Executive Director, Twin Cities in Motion (Marathon/Road Race Advisory Committee)
  • Marmion Dambrino, Director of Athletics, Houston Independent School District (Interscholastic Athletics Advisory Committee)
  • Andrew Burchfield, Director of Emergency Management & Communications, University of Michigan (NCAA)
  • Gina Chapa, Vice President of Guest Services, American Airlines Center (NHL)
  • David Rinetti, Vice President of Stadium Operations, Oakland Athletics (MLB)
  • Michael Morrow, Managing Director of Security, CenturyLink Field (NFL)