Governor Greg Abbott has named eight new members to the Texas School Safety Center Board.

The board reports to the Governor, the legislature, the State Board of Education and the Texas Education Agency regarding school safety and security, and advises the center on its function, budget and strategic planning initiatives.

Lizeth Cuellar of Laredo is the Gear Up facilitator with Laredo Independent School District. She is a member of the Texas Farm Bureau, and currently sits as a board member for Webb County. She is a charter member of Innovative Teachers of Texas and a member of the Laredo Rotary Club, and was appointed as vice chair of the Laredo Commission for Women from 2018-2020. 

Michael Slaughter, Ph.D. of Wylie is the Assistant Principal at Wylie High School and an ordained minister. He is a member of the Association of Texas Professional Educators and the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals. Additionally, he volunteers with Habitat for Humanity.  

Terri Oldham of Jarrell is a clinical therapist at Pathways Counseling Group. She is a member of the American Psychological Association and the National Association of Social Workers. 

Craig Bessent of Abilene is the assistant superintendent with Wylie ISD in charge of school operations, school safety, and security. He is a Texas School Marshal and a member of the Texas Association of School Administrators, Texas Association of Pupil Transportation, and Combined Law Enforcement of Texas. Additionally, he volunteers as a board member of Abilene Crime Stoppers, View Caps Water District and Abilene Emergency Operations. 

Bryan Hedrick of Hereford is the director of Special Services for the Hereford Independent School District and is the Constable for Deaf Smith County. He has more than 38 years of law enforcement experience, with 28 of those years focused on school safety. Additionally, he is a member of the Texas Justice of the Peace and Constable Association. Hedrick served in the United States Army before being medically discharged. 

Andrew Kim of New Braunfels is the superintendent of schools at Comal Independent School District. He is a member of the Texas Association of School Administrators and Fast Schools Growth Coalition. Additionally, he is a member of the New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce Board and the Canyon Lake Noon Lions Club. 

Kerri Ranney of Georgetown is vice president of educational practice at Huckabee. She is a registered architect and a member of the Texas Society of Architects, American Institute of Architects and the Association for Learning Environments. 

Alan Trevino of Burnet is owner and president of Sentry Security & Investigations, L.P., and is a licensed master peace officer, with more than 20 years of law enforcement experience. He is a member of the Texas Association of Licensed Investigators and served as president of the Associated Security Services and Investigators of the State of Texas. He was also appointed by Governor Abbott to the Texas Private Security Board, where he served as Vice Chairman, he is also currently a member of the Public Safety Commission's Private Security Advisory Committee. Trevino is honorably retired from the Texas Department of Public Safety, where he was second in command and detail leader for Governor Bush’s detail.