The International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) has opened the nomination process for its Leadership Awards Program. The awards recognize law enforcement agencies, professionals, and partner organizations from around the world.

Award winners display initiative, innovation and excellence in law enforcement practices in the fields of community safety, emerging issues, investigations, leadership, national security, transnational crime and transportation safety. The nomination process is now open for the following awards:  

Community Safety 

  • IACP Leadership in Civilian Law Enforcement/Military Cooperation Award 
  • IACP Leadership in Community Policing Award 
  • IACP/ecoATM Leadership in Crime Prevention Award 
  • IACP/SIA Michael Shanahan Leadership in Public/Private Cooperation Award 
  • IACP Leadership in Victim Services Award 

Emerging Issues  

  • IACP Leadership in the Field of Police and Public Safety Psychology Award 
  • IACP Leadership in Public Information Management Award 
  • IACP Leadership in Law Enforcement Research Award 


  • IACP Chief David Cameron Leadership in Environmental Crimes Award 
  • IACP August Vollmer Leadership in Forensic Science Award 
  • IACP/Thomson Reuters Excellence in Criminal Investigations Award 
  • IACP/Leonardo Leadership in the Prevention of Vehicle Crimes Award 


  • IACP Leadership in Human and Civil Rights Award 
  • IACP Leadership in Volunteer Police Service Programs Award 

National Security/Transnational Crime  

  • IACP Leadership in Homeland Security Award 
  • IACP/Booz Allen Hamilton Leadership in the Prevention of Terrorism Award 
  • IACP Leadership in the Prevention of Transnational Crime Award 

Transportation Safety  

  • IACP Leadership in Police Aviation Award 
  • IACP J. Stannard Baker Lifetime Achievement in Highway Safety Award 
  • IACP Leadership in Looking Beyond the License Plate Award 
  • IACP Excellence in Traffic Safety Award 

Learn more here.