According to a news report, 14 FIFA member associations in Africa took part in a pilot program that is designed to improve stadium security and safety standards. 

The pilot program across 14 member associations from the Council of Southern Africa Football Associations region included:

  • Angola
  • Botswana 
  • Comoros 
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi 
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa 
  • Zambia 
  • Zimbabwe

Joyce Cook, Chief Member Associations Officer at FIFA, says, “The introduction of the new FIFA Stadium Safety program will provide an important platform for member associations to enhance existing stadium safety policies in place, as well as playing an important role in raising overall safety management and security standards in football stadiums around the world.”