Law will Make Colorado Schools Liable for School Violence
Colorado's governor has signed Legislation to allow lawsuits against Colorado schools when there are shootings.
"With the law, Colorado will be among a few states that allow school lawsuits for cases of violence. At least 33 states limit monetary damages that may be recovered from judgments against the state," said the Denver Post.
Lawsuits would be limited to $350,000 per victim or $900,000 per incident when there are serious injuries or deaths from violence and the school is accused of negligence, the Denver Post reported.
The measure is named for Claire Davis, who was killed at Arapahoe High School in 2013. She was shot by a fellow student who then killed himself.
Governor Hickenlooper also signed a companion measure to the Claire Davis bill. The second bill creates a legislative committee that will meet this summer to study how to improve school safety and threat assessments.