Michael R. Cummings, CPP, was elected by the Board of Directors of ASIS International to be its president in 2009. Cummings succeeds Timothy L. Williams, CPP, who will become ASIS chairman of the board. The vote took place at the ASIS International 54th Annual Seminar and Exhibits held in Atlanta (Sept. 15-18).  

In their leadership positions, both Cummings and Williams will also serve on the Board Management Committee of the Board of Directors.   The Board Management Committee directs the activities of ASIS between meetings of the full Board. The ASIS Board of Directors elects the Board Management Committee annually. These volunteer leaders maintain the strategic continuity to the programs, products and services ASIS provides.

Sworn in at the same time as new members to the Board of Directors, the 2009 ASIS Board Management Committee is comprised of five people:

Michael R. Cummings, CPP, President; he is Director of Loss Prevention Services for Aurora Health Care; Milwaukee, Wis.

Joseph R. Granger, CPP, President-elect; he is Security Director, United Space Alliance; Cape Canaveral, Fla.

Raymond T. O'Hara, CPP, Treasurer; he is Senior Vice President, Andrews International; Palm Desert, Calif.

Eduard J. Emde, CPP, Secretary; he is Manager Consultancy for Interseco; The Hague, The Netherlands.

 Timothy L. Williams, CPP, Chairman of the Board; he is Director of Global Security, Caterpillar; Peoria, Ill.

In August, two new members were elected and one existing member was re-elected, to serve on the 15-member Board of Directors for the 2009-2011 term. The new directors are:

John A. Petruzzi Jr., CPP, Vice President, Corporate Security/Emergency Management, Simon Property Group; Indianapolis, Ind.

Richard Y. Yamamoto, CPP, Director, Corporate Security and Safety, Fannie Mae; Washington, D.C.

In addition to the Board Management Committee, the following members will continue to serve on the Board of Directors: 

Marene Allison, Vice President of Security, Medco; Franklin Lakes, N.J.

Chad Callaghan, CPP, Vice President, Enterprise Loss Prevention, Marriott International Inc.; Washington, D.C.

Geoff Craighead, CPP, Vice President, High Rise & Real Estate Services for Securitas Security Services USA; Los Angeles

David C. Davis, CPP, Director, Division Security for Northrop Grumman; San Bernadino, Calif.

Kaj Moller, Corporate Security Manager, Novo Nordisk; Bagsvaerd, Denmark.

Dave N. Tyson, CPP, Senior Director of Information Security, Disaster Recovery and Business Continuity Planning, eBay; San Jose, Calif.

Gregory L. Sanders, CPP, Security Advisor for United Nations Development Programme; New York, N.Y.

Richard E. Widup Jr., CPP, Senior Director, Security Operations/Corporate Security for Purdue Pharma LP; Stamford, Conn.

ASIS Board members serve a three-year term. The newly elected Board and officers will assume their positions on Jan. 1, 2009.