Mike Jacobs, Chairman of the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame, has released the names of 11 pioneers who will be enshrined in the Hall of Fame on Wednesday, October 17 at a gala banquet at the Four Seasons Hotel Baltimore.

In announcing the inductees, Jacobs, the first Information Assurance Director for the National Security Agency (NSA) and a respected cybersecurity consultant to government and industry said, "Working in areas of technology, public policy, business, education and public awareness, the honorees represent the innovators and visionaries who defined an industry and established the standards in information assurance. These pioneers paved the way for people everywhere to have the ability to securely utilize digital technologies for work, banking, recreation and communication."

Of the more than 200 nominations received, the board of advisors named 11 inductees to the 2012 Hall of Fame: Dorothy Denning, Professor, Department of Defense Analysis, Naval Postgraduate School; Carl Landwehr, Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Security & Privacy Magazine; Peter Neumann, Ph.D., Principal Scientist, SRI International; Roger Schell, President, ÆSec; Whitfield Diffie, Martin Hellman and Ralph Merkle, Inventors, Public Key Cryptograph; and, Ron Rivest, Adi Shamir and Leonard Adelman, Inventors, RSA Algorithm. F. Lynn McNulty, a Federal Information Systems Security Pioneer was named to the 2012 class posthumously.              

Nominations were made by qualified organizations engaged in cybersecurity and were ranked and reviewed by the board using established criteria in five categories: Technology; Policy; Public Awareness; Education; and Business. This inaugural class is composed of those individuals who collectively invented the technologies, created awareness, promoted and delivered education, developed and influenced policy and created businesses to begin addressing the cybersecurity problem. Biographies for the 11 inductees is at www.cybersecurityhalloffame.com/