Sen. Tom Carper (D-DE) will succeed Sen. Joe Lieberman (I-CT) as the chairman of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee.

The committee assignments are subject to approval by the full Democratic caucus and approval of an organizing resolution by the full Senate when the 113th Congress convenes in January.

Sens. Carl Levin (D-MI), Mark Pryor (D-Ala.), Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Jon Tester (D-MT) and Mark Begich (D-AK) were tapped to return to the committee.

The steering committee also appointed Sen.-elect Heidi Heitkamp (D-SD) and Sen.-elect Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) to the committee.

Carper served as chairman of the panel’s subcommittee on Federal Financial Management, Government Information, Federal Services and International Security.